King’s cage- Book

 It was an okay book, the previous books have been better as I remember. I did think this was the last book, so it was kind of a disappointment to realize there is one more year to wait. Maven was fascinating, this book felt long and satisfying. The characters were well built,  I do like maven and mare better together, what’s wrong with me?

Victoria did a good job, giving us enough time with maven and mare, the conversations, the insight, the war, everything was good. The insight into maven’s head, into Evangeline’s, I still can’t hate maven.

Mare is not in love with Maven, and I am sure she is going to be the one to kill him, and it will kill me. I understand cal’s and mare’s love, but Cal does not have that passion for mare,
the parts where Maven tells us how his mother destroyed him, on why he is the way he is, it moved me, that is the reason any of us feel any pity for him, he was not born evil, he was just made empty, this book is magnificent, the characters are fantastic, This book won’t be my favourite but I did enjoy reading it a lot.

I loved this line-

“I’m not a fool, little lightning girl. If you’re going to play in my head, I’m going to play in yours. It’s what we’re good at.”
“Somewhere in the distance, somewhere in my bones, thunder rolls.”

This book had everything, politics, imprisonment, love, hatred, twisted betrayals, terror, everything, so many new characters, I remembered glass sword and shade, my heart went out every time he was mentioned, I loved him, broke my heart for Farley.

“The pain makes you stronger. Love makes you weak.”

Maven, i do agree is great at being a king, evil but his strategies, his wanting of mare, his decisions, everything, the villain here, maven is simply heart breaking, victoria aveyard is a genius. Mare’s character is deep and wise in this book, she thinks through, feels for others, is smarter and less selfish, she knows what she wants and when to stand up for herself. i love her sassiness.
Cal is too soft, too nice probably, i dont think i would be able to forgive him for marrying evangeline, he saved mare but he broke her as well.

The part with mare and cal was sweet, her family, kilorn is awesome! the training everything, it was sweet and refreshing from all the war and punishments.

evangeline and elaine’s love, her love for her brother tolly, i loved the chapters from her viewpoint, she is stuck doing things she does not want to. i hope her parents die and she and her brother get to rule, i hope she stands up for her love.

“Be the best, the strongest, the smartest, the most deadly and the most cunning. The most worthy. And I was everything.”

Evangeline, everything that happens to her also breaks my heart, all the politics that all these characters have to endure, i wish this world was simpler, where beautiful naive hearts could exist. Farley is someone i aspire to be, she is badass, when she stands up in front of her father, whoa! man she has guts and a spine. When mare bonds with julians’ books, turns out i do not like anabel, she is a bitch, she is a grandmother and wants whats best for her grandson but still a silver bitch, sara and everyone is great, her voice comes back yay! I like evangeline’s mother’s ability, she is badass, evil but animals are such a cool power to have, Davidson i had reservations about him but he won my heart during the war.

I did not exactly identify with cameron, but it brought a different take on this book, where everyone was power hungry and all casual in a way about killing, cameron, a kid and powerful, but unwilling to be in a war. I wish i could read the last book a little sooner, waiting for another year, to know how it all goes down, another year without this world, damn.

This is a great series, definitely a must read for people who like YA Fantasy.

Leave a Reply

