Hooking up by Helena Hunting

I enjoyed the book. This is my first Helena Hunting book and i must say i am going to be reading more from her.

A lot of the characters felt real and likeable, characteristics, situations seemed realistic. Everything added up and the timeline felt realistic. There is super hotness in this book along with sweet moments. I must say this book is not what i expected but it was a welcome surprise. Armstrong truly is a horrible incorrigible human being. Amie was sweet, Lex was a complex character, he came across as different in Amie’s narrations and different when the narration was from his POV. I loved ruby and bane and will be reading Shacking up that came before this book and revolves around their story. The scenes between Lex and Amie are consuming and tender. I understand how sometimes we do not listen to our intuition and end up with the wrong person, only to realize our mistake and end up with a scar that remains for life.

“We have a couple of options.”
“Whatever is easiest and quickest. I want this over with as soon as possible.”
“Divorce could be quick.”
I flinch — divorce is such an ugly word in our world. “He cheated on me less than twelve hours into our marriage. It hasn’t and won’t ever be consummated.”
He clears his throat and taps his pen on the table. “Right. Okay. So we’ll proceed with the annulment, which is option two. We’ll cite it as fraudulent, since he entered the marriage without the intention of upholding fidelity.”
I snort. “That’s a nice way of putting it. Is there an option three?”
“Hire a hitman and dump the body in the river, but there’s a lot of loose ends there and it’s sort of a legal nightmare.”
I smile at his horrible attempt at legal humor.
“Let’s go with option two, shall we?”

I really liked Lex’s tattoo.

 

Leave a comment